Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   JUDDD (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/)
-   -   Jawbone UP (fancy pedometer) first day review (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/808327-jawbone-up-fancy-pedometer-first-day-review.html)

calichris 07-19-2013 01:57 PM

Jawbone UP (fancy pedometer) first day review
 
I got my Jawbone UP yesterday, and I'm having fun with it. Here's what I like about it:

- meals in the calorie tracker I use automatically appear in the UP software and activity in the UP wristband appear in the calorie tracker.
- tracks sleeping (how long it takes to fall asleep, how many times I woke up, hours of deep vs. light sleep)
- buzzes me if I've been inactive longer than an interval I choose (optional). It's already buzzed me today while on this board. :D
- counts steps throughout the day
- vibrate alarm (optional) wakes you up at an optimal time in your sleep cycle.
- encourages me to be more active to keep my step count up.

One thing was weird ... I did intervals on the treadmill this morning, and the information on the UP was very different than what was on the treadmill. I wouldn't be concerned if the calories were different, but I think the distance on the treadmill should be accurate and the UP tracked only half the distance! It also told me it was an "easy" workout, even though it was walking at 3.5 mph interspersed with 30 seconds of sprinting at regular intervals. Later, I walked the dog, and it told me that was a higher intensity workout! I think I've figured out the issue though ... it's a wristband, and when I use the treadmill I tend to keep my hands on the bar. :D Next time I'll try letting my hands move naturally and see if it makes a difference.

Anyway ... so far, I love it! Thanks Carly for inspiring me to get an activity tracker ... I think it's going to be good for me.

Carly 07-19-2013 02:05 PM

I know I'm loving my Fitbit One and it's been a great motivation! Have fun with your Jawbone!

KeirasMom 07-19-2013 02:15 PM

Cool! I did read where all the wristband trackers are limited when you're doing something that doesn't require you to move your arms/hands, so I think you've figured it out. I'll be interested to see what happens when you're not holding onto the bars.

Librarygirl 07-19-2013 03:34 PM

Not holding on to the bars will make it a lot harder too. :D Glad you're enjoying your tracker, Chris!

Kissa 07-19-2013 03:51 PM

Mine is on its way!

calichris 07-20-2013 09:51 PM

OK, the UP seems to be quite dependent on arms swinging. It beeped me for being inactive when I was in the supermarket with my hands pushing the cart. :D Today I did the treadmill again without holding onto the bar (it has a heartrate monitor on it which is why I got into the habit of holding on to it), and this time the miles were close to the treadmill's. :up: The sleep data is fascinating, and the inactivity buzzer is a real plus for me (I lose track of time!). Like Carly I notice that it is in some strange way really motivating me to be more active. I guess I don't want to see "you've been a sloth today" in my report. :D (JK, it doesn't say that, but facts are facts).

bacon bit 07-20-2013 10:59 PM

I loved mine. Then it stopped working after I charged it. I got a new one and I loved it, too. It also stopped working. I noticed it wasn't tracking accurately toward the end and wore it on mg ankle, but it was already on its way out. I found the sleep info interesting but inaccurate. I hope you have better luck than I did!

grammyw/kitties 07-21-2013 09:19 AM

You go girls!! I for one doesn't need any machine to tell me that I am lazy!! I've already figured that out:rofl::rofl::rofl:

calichris 07-21-2013 10:30 AM

Heidi, how disappointing! How long ago did you have yours? They apparently reworked it and solved some issues that cropped up?

p.s. for me, the sleep info I can verify is accurate (how many times I woke up). I have no way of knowing if the light/deep sleep is accurate, but it looks like it could be right (in cycles that vary nightly, etc.)

bacon bit 07-21-2013 02:47 PM

I had the first one in may, the second one in June. I would be looking at the clock when I woke up and if would tell me I slept 12 hours. I have small children who wake me up often. But I also heard it takes a while to get used to you. I miss mine.

Carly 07-21-2013 03:32 PM

My Fitbit registers the sleepwalking as awake and other small movements as restless. I would not agree that I'm awake when sleepwalking, but I don't blame the fitbit for thinking that if I took 75 steps I must be "awake". I have seen that I seem to sleep walk an hour after going to sleep and at 2am and at 4am. I'm going to bring my Ipad to the doctor the next time and show her. She wants me to go to a sleep lab, but I've been saying no for 15 years and don't think I'm going to change my mind now. However the fitbit does give me some insight into what is going on at night.

calichris 07-21-2013 03:42 PM

Heidi, I'm sorry yours didn't work out. So far the one I have seems accurate ... I hope it continues to work. I don't know if you wore yours in the shower, but I've heard reports that even though they say you can do that, it seems to affect longevity? Don't know.

grammyw/kitties 07-21-2013 06:16 PM

Everything is different for everyone. Its great for Carly this could really help the drs. I was just being a smartypants before. haha didn't mean to offend

bacon bit 07-21-2013 06:34 PM

I did wear it in the shower but never in the bath. It seemed directly related to charging it. Both times if started to charge, then just quit. I should send it back again because I really did like it!

SlowSure 07-22-2013 09:13 AM

Owners of the Jawbone or Fitbit - what do you think of the bracelet sizes? I've read some mixed/adverse comments about the sizing of them.

My wrists are 6.75 and 7 inches if that's any indication.

calichris 07-22-2013 11:27 PM

I got the large according to their fit charts (7 or 7.25 inch wrists), but I would love to compare with a medium because it's a tad loose.

Kissa 07-23-2013 01:42 AM

I ordered the small. It should have arrived by now....

Carly 07-23-2013 02:36 AM

Mine is a clip for during the day that I clip to my bra and the wrist band for night is a fabric wrap that could fit a huge wrist or a tiny one.

Kissa 07-23-2013 03:59 AM

My tracker says it is on its way today! Yay.

Mimosa23 07-23-2013 06:09 AM

Glad you like your Jawbone Up!

I'm convinced it helps us be more aware of moving! BF is now getting a fitbit too, so he's going to make it into a competition, LOL! :dunno::stars::mad::rofl:

Kissa 07-25-2013 12:54 AM

My UP arrived yesterday. Eventually got around to setting up,at bed time. It woke me nicely. Off for my day now.

Kissa 07-26-2013 05:04 AM

I love this thing...

calichris 07-27-2013 10:15 PM

I love mine too. :jumpjoy: so motivating!

TryingJudd 07-29-2013 11:49 AM

I told DH this is what I want for my BDay next week. I hope it brings back some of that motivation I have been missing!

calichris 07-29-2013 12:29 PM

TJ, I think you will :heart: it! Even though before I knew I should park farther away, get little 10 minute walks in here and there, etc. before, now I actually do it ... because I see the difference it makes in my daily step count. Just remember to swing your arm. :D

Kissa 07-29-2013 03:24 PM

I was SO cross about my low step count yesterday. I know I was stuck in the car a lot, but still!

Almost made my 10,000 today just a whisker short. I'll do it tomorrow though, for sure.

Mimosa23 07-30-2013 12:26 AM

I park three floors down in the parking garage at work. Just so I can get some extra steps and floors in every day, LOL!

Kissa 07-30-2013 01:28 AM

I am considering walking to the gym later... IF the rain stops!

Carly 07-30-2013 03:13 AM

I walk to and from the track to get in extra steps. I've also been taking the stairs when ever possible. I have the Fitbit, but it's great and very motivating!

calichris 07-30-2013 07:41 AM

I think the Fitbit and the UP are very similar ... I went with UP for the bracelet format, although now I realize that makes arm swinging very important. :D


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 AM.