Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   JUDDD (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/)
-   -   Increase calories for intense exercise? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/798817-increase-calories-intense-exercise.html)

Lori_:) 03-06-2013 04:08 AM

Increase calories for intense exercise?

Hello All,

I'm new to JUDDD and a bit discouraged. After my first DD I was down 2 lbs(YAY) after 1 UD and another DD, up a 1 lb. After another cycle I'm down 1/2 lb. Just seems like I should be dropping faster than that.

I do an intense boot camp workout 4 times a week. I have my JUDDD calories set as if I do no exercise, thinking that would result in faster loss. Is that a mistake? I really want this plan to work....I appreciate any suggestions.

Lori

Carly 03-06-2013 04:33 AM

I would stick with these numbers for 2 weeks and then sdd in exercise calories if needed. Are you counting UDs? If not I would start there.

Lori_:) 03-06-2013 04:36 AM

Thanks Carly....yes, I've been counting calories every day. I was hoping not to have to do that, but I thought I would for the first couple weeks. I know I'm impatient and should give it a couple weeks. Thanks again!

Lori

Flossyliz 03-06-2013 05:11 AM

Lori the weight fluctuations are probably due to water. I'm not convinced I've seen any people here doing intense exercise, who get major weight-loss benefits.

Here's an invitation to shoot me down in flames if you'd like to disagree.

adillenal 03-06-2013 05:26 AM

Exercise for health benefits but not necessarily for weight loss for me. Walking helps me maintain and lifting weights is for health purposes.
So no, even when I do exercise, I do not up my calories.

Lori_:) 03-06-2013 06:08 AM

Thanks everyone! I'm doing the boot camp more for strength and increased well being than for weight loss. I suppose I am sabotaging my weight loss efforts with all the exercise, but I guess I'll have to accept it. I'm in too deep to quit now! :hyst: