Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > JUDDD
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Lemming
I'm back. And fatter.

I did JUDDD earlier in the spring, trying to lose 8-10 pounds that I added when my thyroid levels went below range again. I was doing well on it, but I knew it would get interesting when I started working out again. I'm a 48-year old hypothyroid peri-menopausal speedskater (no, sadly there's no classification for that in races!). March and part of April are my "off months," to recover from the winter competition season. I did well with JUDDD during those 6 weeks or so that I didn't do much working out, and lost 9 pounds. But then the workouts resumed, and then summer came (I'm a teacher), and JUDDD fell by the wayside and, well, I'm up about 11 pounds. Yeah, 2 more than where I started from.

So I want to re-start JUDDD, but I'm not sure how to do it with my workout schedule. I typically do hard skating workouts Tues/Wed/Thurs, have Mon and Friday off from workouts, and do a "recovery" workout or two on the weekend. My Heart Rate Monitor says I burn about 700-800 calories during the hard workouts, and they are high intensity so I know I need to eat the right foods for muscle recovery after the workout. I ate pretty high calorie levels when I did JUDDD in the spring--1000/2500, and that was with minimal exercise. (I've apparently been blessed, even when hypothyroid, with a pretty good metabolism. Which is good, because I've also been blessed with the ability to eat like a trucker. No offense to any truckers out there).