Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   JUDDD (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/)
-   -   Soy . . . oh boy! (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/765395-soy-oh-boy.html)

KeirasMom 03-29-2012 09:41 AM

Soy . . . oh boy!

I'm trying to limit soy in my diet and it's everywhere I look! :stars: I was sipping my broth on yesterday's DD and decided to check the label. Yep, there too. The TV dinner I had last night . . . soy! I've been on a couple of my favorite restaurants' websites and soy abounds there too!

Apparently, um, I guess, just maybe . . . there's some merit to eating whole foods. I so despise cooking, but I may need to find a way to fit it into my schedule. :mad:

Anyone have any decent DD compliant convenience foods without soy?

Tina, I know you've got something for me! :hyst:

OndoGirl 03-29-2012 10:15 AM

I am still learning what works....

How about tuna fish? Got some at the Aldis for .79c a can (100 calories per can). They also have the pouches for $1 each if you like. I added dijonnaise and relish + celery. I had this the other day and it was yummy and filling with no cooking involved.

I am a weirdo though...I also like their smoked oysters in the can 150 cals each. I made a shirataki stir-fry with this yesterday. Cabbage + soy sauce +shirataki noodles+ oysters + 1 jalapeno pepper + minced garlic + beans sprouts + mushrooms (263 cals total). I had this yesterday for dinner, I just threw it all in a saucepan and let the noodles soak up the flavors (for about 15 minutes). It was pretty good.

mykidsteacher 03-29-2012 10:31 AM

I avoid soy as much as possible too. Being diagnosed with dairy and egg allergies has made that a bit tougher, however.