Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   JUDDD (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/)
-   -   MMMmmm Scones! (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/735679-mmmmmm-scones.html)

Joedi 09-15-2011 01:54 PM

MMMmmm Scones!

Those of you who read my posts will know I have been craving a scone! Well Beeb kindly sent me the recipe below....which I tweeked a bit to replace ingredients I didnt have.

Well they were DELICIOUS..gorgeous, apple & cinnamon, with a crunch of walnut! :up:

DH actually said they were "the best yet" and I have been making scones for us since we got married 16 years ago..so this was real praise.:kicking:

Thanks to juddd, I can enjoy one on any UD I like...and they are still low enough carb not to set off cravings.

Beebs recipe is below...with my tweeks in bold. Next ones will be cherry & coconut....yum!

Nancy's Cinnamon Walnut Scone

Topping:
2 Tbs granular sweetener
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Ingredients:
2 cups Carbquik ( 3/4 cup almond flour, 3/4 cup coconut flour, 1/2 cup oat fiber)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
2 ounces cold cream cheese, cut into small pieces
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (or any other nut of choice) (18g walnuts, small chopped apple)
1/3 cup LC Milk or Heavy Cream (Skimmed milk)
1 egg, beaten
3/4 cup granular sweetener or equivalent liquid sweetener (1/2 cup erythritol, 1/4 tsp stevia)
1 tsp vanilla extract
(1 tsp glucomannan to offset the drying effect of oat fiber)
1 TBS heavy cream (1 T skimmed milk)

Original recipe per scone (makes 6) -With granular sweetener per scone:

267 cals, 23g fat, 8g protein, 19g carbs, 12g fiber....7 net carbs (using carbquik)

With my tweeks per scone
277 cals 19g fat, 10g protein, 19 carbs, 4 fiber... 15 net carbs
( i balanced the higher cal flours by using lower cal milk instead of cream...which bumped the carb count up a bit!)

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray.