Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Health Support Groups > General Health/Medical Issues
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2014, 05:58 PM   #1
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Meme
WOE: Atkins-2002 New Diet Revolution
Low temp, exhausted?

Hi all, I've been doing low-carb for about 6 months now and last week I began feeling so tired like I have the flu, but I don't.
Today I took my temp and saw that it is a full degree lower than normal.
Since last week I noticed that I was so tired in the afternoon and slept three hours and then even went to sleep without problem at night.
I've read a little about Thyroid on these boards and don't understand any of it.
Does low Magnesium cause any of this?
I stopped losing weight a few weeks ago and don't know why. I have cheated once or twice but that's about it, Some sweet red cabbage once and another time BBQ sauce. I am doing 20-30g carbs now and am at 180lbs. now.
Anybody know if low-carb causes any of this?
Or have any idea what it could be?
Meme is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 07-18-2014, 07:41 PM   #2
GME
Way too much time on my hands!

Gallery: GME
Stats: 250/166/175 Trying again...223/204.6/146 5'7
WOE: JUDDD/LC/Gluten & Dairy Free
Start Date: April 2000 (the first time)
Low temp and difficulty losing weight are classic thyroid symptoms, but there are many others- dry skin, constipation, being unable to think of words you know well, feeling cold when others are not, losing more hair than normal and others I can't think of right now. Do you have any of those?

There are many sources that say very low carb will damage your thyroid's performance (what "very low carb" means isn't agreed upon). I never believed it. I always that figured people with under-active thyroids are usually heavy and heavy people go on diets- it was correlation, not causation.