Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   General Health/Medical Issues (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/general-health-medical-issues/)
-   -   Anyone with adult ADD/ADHD had positive effects with LC? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/general-health-medical-issues/826279-anyone-adult-add-adhd-had-positive-effects-lc.html)

Mr_Geiri 03-21-2014 06:34 AM

Anyone with adult ADD/ADHD had positive effects with LC?

Just started reading "Grain Brain" (just few pages into it) and the main argument seems to be that high-carb diet is bad for brain disorders or even the cause of them.

So I'm curious if anyone here with ADD has had positive results. If so, at what point did you start feeling a change and at what point do you think you reached the full positive effects?

I've been doing this for 4 months now and I think it's mildly better, but I'm hoping to have more effects long-term. The medications have never worked well on me and I don't take any now.

solarpluvia 03-21-2014 03:02 PM

LC has had no effect on my ADHD. None. But it is generally easier to cope without the blood sugar crashes I used to get.

Spanilingo 03-21-2014 04:25 PM

No. As a matter of fact, as much as I love LC , I struggle much more with ADD when in long term Ketosis.

Many sensitivitiea to foods or food additives mimic symptoms of ADD so by removing the foods people assume they are helping their adhd when the problem was never ADHD to begin with or they only assumed they had it.

In my opinion and from my experience... It's unrelated

Mr_Geiri 03-22-2014 05:59 AM

Ohhh that's a shame. Thanx for sharing.

Hayek 03-22-2014 03:17 PM