Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Health Support Groups > General Health/Medical Issues
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2014, 03:18 AM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: jackibar
Stats: 330/274/132
WOE: Fat To Skinny, Dr. Bernstein, Atkins
Start Date: 9/16/2013
Does Low Carb Cause Very Frequent Urination?

I've been eating low carb for 4 months now, have dropped 56 lbs and brought my A1C down from 9.8 to 6.4 (though I think it will be even less when I get tested next week). However, I've been having very frequent urination since eating this way (every 2 hrs at night and many times during the day - sometimes 7 times in 2 hours). I wondered if eating this way could be causing kidney problems? I noticed when I had my mini binge two weeks ago, the urination slowed wayyyy down... It started back up around day 3 of low carb (about when I went back into ketosis) and hasn't slowed down at all. I do hope this latest weight loss is really fat and not just water!!

I'm just still really exhausted all the time from the lack of sleep - can't even rest during the day really... Any insight? Or anyone else have this problem?!

- Jacki
jackibar is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 01-24-2014, 03:47 AM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: spaceace
LC does cause you to lose water, which is one reason that it is good for lowering your blood pressure (less fluid to pump around means your heart doesn't have to work as hard). It probably stopped on your binge as you began retaining again, one of the effects of insulin. After 3 days, you would have used your glycogen stores and cleared your blood of excess insulin, so you would again start losing water. That all makes sense, and is expected, and healthy.