Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   General Health/Medical Issues (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/general-health-medical-issues/)
-   -   Osteopenia/osteoporosis? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/general-health-medical-issues/796372-osteopenia-osteoporosis.html)

EmmaPeel 02-05-2013 02:10 PM

Osteopenia/osteoporosis?

Dear Forumites,
I am new to low-carb but have already been delighted by the results--wow, the only diet ever that worked. Trouble is, at 54, menopausal, I also have systemic lupus, thyroid issues, and now---ta daa!---osteopenia, borderline osteoporosis, according to a dexa scan a week or so ago. Doc says "take calcium and vitamin D3, eat yogurt and milk 3x daily, do weight bearing exercise 3x a week."

But it's tricky: can't take calcium 5 hours near thyroid medicine, which I have to take am and pm. Don't want any dairy that has carbs--yogurt is out. Hate cheese. Some greens are goitrogens (bad for thyroid). Anyone have advice about what to eat, and when, in order to rebuild bone?

Thanks,
Emma

Leo41 02-05-2013 05:00 PM

Emma-
I have the same problem! I'm hypothyroid (age 71) and have mild osteopenia. I take both Levoxyl (T4) and Cytomel (T3), and my T3 has to be split 3 times a day. It's 4 hours from all thyroid meds before you can take calcium, and I usually try to avoid all dairy.

I take a calcium supplement, but here's my problem. The body can absorb only 500 mg. of calcium at a time. I don't know how long it has to be before the next dose, but I take my final T3 at about 2 pm. Then I take 500 mg. of calcium at 6 pm. Then I try to take a second 500 mg at 8 pm. So I rarely get more than 1,000 mg. in supplements.

I've read that it's better to get the calcium from food rather than supplements, but I could not get enough calcium even if I ate dairy because of the thyroid issue.