Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   The Exercise Board (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/exercise-board/)
-   -   Lo carb runners, what do you eat/drink during long runs? Natural food only. (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/exercise-board/809551-lo-carb-runners-what-do-you-eat-drink-during-long-runs-natural-food-only.html)

whitehorse 08-06-2013 12:40 AM

Lo carb runners, what do you eat/drink during long runs? Natural food only.

I have been trying to read up on low carb fuel during long distance runs. However, the most info I seems to get are around gels and stuff that I am not too keen to try at all.

I am training for my first marathon in jan and as I am a newbie, I wont be running the whole way nor will I be racing fast. Its going to be slow & steady.
I also have another 70k in feb, but unless I can get my head around food & drink options while I am on the move for 10 hours+ I may have to call it off. :(

I am interested to know what kind of low carb snacks & natural home made drinks you use to fuel yourself during a long distance endurance race. Would be great if you would post only stuff that is natural & easily available please :)

Thanx

westside 08-07-2013 10:54 PM

Marathon distance or ultra distance, the best fuel is being able to burn your own fat and that is done through miles and training

westside 08-07-2013 11:04 PM

In an ultra distance event, for a kick in the butt, in the last third of the race , try chicken broth and then flat(decarbonated) coke. Put coke in a bowl and whip is up then pour it or let it sit for a while. regular coke will do in a pinch.