Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Diabetes (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/diabetes/)
-   -   There is hope (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/diabetes/822236-there-hope.html)

diwitch 02-06-2014 03:55 AM

There is hope

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, nor am I advising anyone to stop taking their prescribed medication, this is just MY story and what has worked/is working for me.

In October of 2008, I was admitted to the hospital, DKA, BG well over 1000. I was not previously diabetic, I had contracted a staph infection, it was misdiagnosed, ran rampant in my body for 3 weeks, darn near killed me and destroyed my pancreatic function. Since then, until recently, I have been on insulin (5 shots a day, 2 basal, 3 bolus).

I have not take any insulin (or any other meds for that matter) for the last 11 days. My FBG has ranged from 100 to 110, no spikes during the day higher than 140. While this is still a bit high, I am very happy with it.

How did I do this you ask? :)

I eat a LCHF diet (low carb, high fat), I do take benfotiamine (for neuropathy) and 2 ounces a day of ACV. Generally my fat/carb/protein ratio runs around 80/5/15. That's 80% of my calories from fat, 5% from carbs, 10% from protein. My blood panels are stellar, my doctor is in shock and I am one happy camper. I started the LCHF in September of last year, started gradually reducing my insulin until I got down to one shot a day (bolus). Then I stopped that too.

I am not saying LCHF is a miracle cure or that it is for everyone. But I help run a facebook group dedicated to helping diabetics with this WOE and the results many people have achieved have been outstanding. Off of the top of my head I can think of at least 10 people that have completely eliminated their need for insulin/metformin/januvia/glip etc. Many more have greatly reduced their use of meds while stablizing blood sugar and losing weight as well.