Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2013, 09:19 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: rachinator87
Stats: 200/183/150
WOE: Glycemic Load Diet
Diabetic Recipes and Low Carb

Whats the difference between low carb recipes and diabetic friendly. I am pre diabetic so i thought buying a diabetic cooking magazine would be a great idea for new recipes but i looked at a few recipes and they are not low carb...Why is this and what is the difference?

*I am new to this, I am pre-diabetic (high levels but not high enough to be diabetic) And i have been eating low carb for a month and a half and have lost almost 20 pounds. My doctor told me to follow the Glycemic Load Diet
rachinator87 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 09-25-2013, 09:42 PM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Blue Skies
Stats: 224/174/165 - 5'11"
WOE: LC my way
Start Date: Feb, 2013
There is much controversy about all this. And no, most "Diabetes" recipe mags are NOT low carb. Seems that even the Diabetes community buys into the idea that you NEED a "balanced" diet, including more carbs then I think most need.

IMO, a low carb diet IS diabetes friendly, and many here who got borderline diagnosis for D2, or were diagnosed as having D2, have found their BG numbers DRAMATICALLY improve w/a low carb diet, many to the point where they can get off their meds.

I guess I would suggest reading Dr. Bernstein's "The Diabetes Solution." Or at least skimming it or reading articles on it. Dr. Bernstein would NOT endorse the Diabetes recipes you're finding in your mag. He is a low carb advocate, and has much to base this on, including the success he's had fighting his own diabetes.