Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Diabetes (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/diabetes/)
-   -   HELP! (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/diabetes/792290-help.html)

B761 12-29-2012 12:33 PM

HELP!

Hi all - Im new to this

Im 37 and pretty thin ( 190 lbs ) Ive always ate horribly - fast food and lots of sweets.

After blurry vision - went to doctor and diagnosed type 2

Im on Metformin 1000mg twice daily and fasting bgl is usually 240
and after meals it is generally 350.
I bought a keytone test kit with my own $ and am ofter in the moderate to high range. Im afraid my doctor is negligent and my #'s are way too out of control....

My classes havent started yet and I have no idea how to feed myself.
Ive been eating very little due to this and have been surviving on adams PB and celery - split pea soup - egg whites and tuna... im eating very little carbs.... Im growing weak

What should I be doing until the meds kick in???

please let me know if im missing something....god I want a double cheese burger

-thank you
-b761

Kaarren 12-29-2012 12:59 PM

Hey B761

Go eat a double cheeseburger, just skip the bun.

Your classes will be different than what you see here on the low carb site.

Just take it all in & see what works for you. I found that the ADA diet had too many carbs that caused cravings, so I followed Atkins style, it was easier.

GOOD LUCK

B761 12-29-2012 01:45 PM

I'm not sure if im just being dramatic... but these # seem extremely high? bgl at 415?

With the high #'s and keytones showing moderate/high - im fearful of everything!

Is it likely my #'s have been growing to these high levels for years or that i became insulin resistant very rapidly?

if I ate a Quarter Pounder WITH a bun - would I possibly need to be hospitalized?

-Very fearful
B76

E.W. 12-29-2012 11:44 PM