LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2012, 11:36 AM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: wenz67
Stats: starting 235 lbs goal 145 lbs
WOE: Atkins
Start Date: april 23 2012
Insulin Dependent and Atkins Induction

This is my first time on this forum and so looking forward to some help. I started Atkins 4 days ago, and now I'm am in ketosis (the higher side) is it safe?My blood glucose hasn't quite come down into excellent range. I am running between 8.0 to 10.0 more 8's than 10's I am afraid of going into ketoacidosis. It's working for me because I have lost 5lbs so far and sugars where considerably higher than that before I started. I might add I am also on levemire twice a day. Any knowledge would be appreciated.
wenz67 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 05-06-2012, 10:02 AM   #2

Gallery: ravenrose
Stats: lost 130 lb so far, and miles to go before I sleep
WOE: low carb controlled calorie
Start Date: June, 2009
are you type one or type two?

I don't know how to interpret the blood sugar readings you use in Canada.

in any case, the ketones from low carb eating don't have anything to do with the ketones in ketoacidosis. read Dr. Bernstein's diabetes books for all the info you need, reassurace, and best practices. he really is great!

good luck.
ravenrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:05 AM   #3
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Vilya
Stats: 285/198/180
WOE: LC/HF for T2 diabetes
Start Date: Sept. 2011
Your blood sugar will take a while to come back into normal range if you just started. Atkins is wonderful, but it's not a cure-all. You still need to take your meds/insulin and exercise. All those things together will help control your BG.

If you're running at 8's and 10's (that's 144 and 180 in US numbers - multiply by 18), that's high, but not ketoacidosis range. All the stories I've heard of people going into ketoacidosis, they had BG's of 500 or more.
Vilya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:26 AM   #4