Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Health Support Groups > Diabetes
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2012, 07:34 AM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: Ronpozoromo
metformin carb craving

Hi my name is ronpozoromo and I'm a carboholic. I've been doing low carb off & on for about 15 years-I simply can't stay on it longer than 2-3 months. I'm a 57 yr old male, 6' 2"-300 lbs, and my AIC runs 5.9-6.3 in the last four years. I asked my MD to prescribe Metformin and I've been on it for only a week(2x 500 mg daily) . Wow, my carb cravings are much improved. Some GI distress but I can easily handle it. For some time after dinner I simply cannot get satisfied if I don't either overeat or eat simple carbs. I know it doesn't work for everyone but so far it is freeing me from my addiction. I certainly hope it stays this way. I may finally be able to stay on low carb for a while.
Ronpozoromo is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 04-04-2012, 08:32 PM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: artsy897
Stats: 310/225/145
WOE: Low Carb/Gluten Free
Start Date: 8/2011
Hi Ronpozoromo...I am sorta new here also.
I just found out last August that I have Diabetes and was put on Metformin and it has been a miracle medicine for me.

I had not been able to lose weight my whole life long and since being on Metformin and living a low carb way of eating...I have lost 65 pounds and I am still going down...

The Metformin cuts my appetite so much that I can have the self control I need to make good food choices. I think if I could have been put on this years ago...I would not have had the weight battles I did.
I did also have the GI distress...but finally being able to lose weight was well worth it to me and those complaints have diminished greatly. It took about 5 months though. My AIC is 5.0 and I take 850mg of Metformin daily.

Welcome to this great forum...Linda