LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2010, 05:08 PM   #1
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: fourstubbs
Stats: 225/220/142.3/135
WOE: IDEAL PROTEIN
Start Date: Restart July 2012
low carb and blood sugar spikes

Hi everyone, I have a question I hope someone can help me with... I have been limiting my carb intake for a few months now and have had great success with my numbers, (type 2) so today and yesterday, my blood sugars have been running really high for me, and I have been eating the same foods etc, nothing carby etc... still for the last couple of days my numbers have been high. I'm not sick or anything either. Do you have any ideas? Thanks for your ear...fourstubbs
fourstubbs is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 07-18-2010, 06:32 PM   #2

Gallery: ravenrose
Stats: lost 130 lb so far, and miles to go before I sleep
WOE: low carb controlled calorie
Start Date: June, 2009
Are the readings equally high all the time or is it elevated fasting or post prandial numbers in particular?

How high is high? And how much of an increase is that for you?

If it's all the time, are you SURE you aren't sick? Sometimes it turns out it's a tooth problem and the infection isn't seen right away but it's there. Or something else like that.

Second, what meds are you on? If it's insulin, you might have a batch that's not good anymore. It's very sensitive to temperature, and getting too hot or too cold can render it useless.

If it's post prandial readings that are surprisingly high, is it possible you are getting hidden carbs somewhere? Are you eating or taking anything new?

Oh, and has your amount of exercise changed? That can make a difference too.

And alcohol consumption. Have you recently cut out alcohol or decreased how much you drink? Alcohol lowers blood sugars, so it would probably be higher without it.

And sometimes, for whatever reason, our diabetes just seems to get better or worse.

Good luck troubleshooting this.
Old 07-19-2010, 04:54 AM   #3