Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Health Support Groups > Cholesterol and Heart Health
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2013, 05:43 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: poe2you
Help with numbers-upcoming appointment

I have an appt with my dr next week.. and she's a statin believer...
my labs currently are

total - 259
LDL 167
HDL 73

3.5 ratio
non HDL 186?

should i be on a statin? Thanks... with the new guidelines now.. its confusing..
poe2you is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 11-19-2013, 06:54 AM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: poe2you
sorry.. also my trigs.. were 95...
poe2you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:51 AM   #3
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Ronnie51
I'm no expert, but I see no one has replied so I will. Your doctor didn't do an NMR which would have given you much more information as to your LDL particles, so I can only address the numbers you've posted. Depending on any other risk factors you may have such as family history, your blood pressure, age, weight, glucose, overall health, your LDL is high and some doctors treat with a statin based on LDL alone. Your HDL is very good as are your triglycerides. I know many people on this board are anti-statin; I've been on 20 mg Zocor for many years and while my numbers are good, I do suffer from lower leg pain and cramps when resting which I think are a side effect of the statin. But my sister has coronary artery disease so I feel lowering my LDL outweighs the risk of developing that disease. Latest research shows that statins can increase the risk of diabetes in women, plus higher doses may cause kidney disease so I've been revisiting taking this drug (although 20 mg Zocor is not considered a high dose). So far I haven't said anything to my doctor about stopping the Zocor, but I'm thinking about it. So, you will need to decide if the benefits o