Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Health Support Groups > Cholesterol and Heart Health
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 01:01 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: Lovinfiftys
Stats: 142/134/125
WOE: LCHF
Start Date: Nov 2012
Wine is a problem! Look at my Lipids..

Hi Everyone!

I finally decided to register instead of lurking everyday. I have been doing Low Carb off and on since 2001. At that time I lost what I needed to quickly (15 pds in 8 weeks.) But what really got me excited was that my lipid blood work came back so wonderful that my doc was blown away! Even though she complained about ketones in my urine and told me Atkins was deadly! Ha! I always through the years kept my weight within 15 pds by going off and on when needed.

In 2002 I filed for divorce after 26 years of marriage. I discovered during this horrible time something I never knew...or rather, never endulged in. WINE! Starting with a glass once in a while to gradually through the years increasing. Increasing to the point that I should actually be posting on an AA forum instead of this one! Long story short, here is my lipid test on Oct 19, 12 and my follow up on Jan 17, 13. Started back on low carb on Nov 15, 12 but NOT giving up my daily consumption of wine.

Oct 2012 Jan 2013

Chol-287 250
Trig-403 346
HDL- 54 73
LDL-182 108
VLDL- to high to count 69

TSH- 5.800 0.06 (range 0.35-5.50)
Total T3- 42 58 (range 60-180)
Vit D- 15 68
Glucose-94

Conclusion, low carb works! Even though I only lost 7 pounds in 8 weeks, my blood work turned around except for the triglycerides, which are horrible. Time to stop the wine. I drink 4 to 5 glasses a day, 5 days a week. I started on 5000 units of Vit D daily after seeing my level at 15..Yikes!