LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2011, 10:05 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: oliveoyl
Stats: 208/166/165
WOE: Low Carb Primal
Start Date: August 2002
Joint pain and physical impairment

This is rather long, but I thought it might help people with similar problems. I've been low-carbing since 2002 and felt great. Then I got into low-carb baking using vital wheat gluten and small amounts of wheat flour. I'm normally very physically active and didn't make the connection for a long time -- I just thought I was getting older and needed to slow down. My major symptom was intense, crippling joint pain. There was also a lack of physical coordination, lack of energy, depression, and loss of learning ability (I'm a pianist and I was having a lot of trouble concentrating and learning new music -- again, I just figured I was getting older). There were also food cravings and a desire to eat constantly, something I hadn't experienced since I started low-carbing. The foods that seem to trigger my symptoms are wheat and potatoes. It was very difficult for me to figure out what was causing the problem because the joint pain takes about four days to appear -- so I'd have to go back about four days and figure out what I'd eaten. Even if I had a tiny amount of wheat, say enough to thicken a gravy, I'd still get intense joint pain. The symptoms would last about two weeks, accompanied by constipation in the second week, then I would get a bad case of diarrhea and the symptoms would be gone.