Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Atkins Induction
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2013, 03:53 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: bhaiman
A couple queries from a newbie

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum, so try to forgive a few dumb questions! I'd love some general advice.

About me/my weight: I'm 46 and 15-20 pounds over my ideal weight. All my adult life my weight has fluctuated about 10 pounds, which wasn't a big deal.

At 45 I gained 25 pounds, lost it, and started to gain it back, at which point I realized that, as I'm now in perimenopause, I need to start taking dieting more seriously. I started Atkin's induction with little more research than their website. Now low carb flu has struck and I am doing my homework. (I also have caught a cold, which I suppose is unrelated, but it's an uncomfortable situation). I'm 3 days in.

First question: are there modified induction plans? I don't mind slower loss as long as I can keep it off.

Second: any advice from pros on long term maintenance? Left unchecked I now gain about 2 pounds a month, and I should note that I haven't eaten any refined sugar in a year, eat no fast food, drink fresh veggie juice daily (not on induction). So I wasn't eating wantonly. I have a desk job but walk my dog a half mile a day.

Thanks!
bhaiman is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 10-07-2013, 04:36 AM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: AnnetteW
Stats: 182/144/135 (5'5", 50 yrs)
WOE: Atkins/NK
Start Date: Restart: May 6, 2013 @ 165lbs
Sorry you aren't feeling well, and with a cold to boot.

My suggestions would just be to suck it up and do the regular induction. What about it is causing you problems? Is it just not feeling well?