Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Atkins Induction (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/atkins-induction/)
-   -   Newbie here (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/atkins-induction/805025-newbie-here.html)

Rstephen 05-29-2013 02:33 PM

Newbie here

Hi, my story is alot like everyone else's except that 10years ago I had gastric bypass surgery. I lost 140 lbs, but now I have gradually gained back40. I tried ww for about six months and it didn't work. I have been on a version of low carb, no sugar, no bread, and no fruit even since May first, and have lost about 11 pounds. I feel like this is not as much as I expected, but I feel so much better, that I am going to try to stay on it. I was so happy to find some online help and even an app for low carbing. My question is what is the least amount of carbs should I try to have daily? I am 57 and have a very slow metabolism. Thanks again for the great inspiration, recipes and low carb products.

Ntombi 05-29-2013 02:36 PM

If you're trying to follow Atkins, induction starts with 20g per day, from non-starchy veggies, dairy, eggs, and some meats.

If you look at the sticky at the top of the forum, you'll find guidelines. Or you can look up the rules of induction on the Atkins site. The information is free.

Happy&Healthy@40 05-29-2013 02:41 PM

Hi Rstephen!
Good luck & keep going!
Slow & steady win the race :)

Rstephen 05-29-2013 02:55 PM

Thanks so much!

RonJaws 06-12-2013 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rstephen (Post 16445835)
Thanks so much!

How are you doing so far? This is my first day, feel full which is great.

indiucky 06-12-2013 02:30 PM

Hi Rstephen,

First of all, I feel your regain pain and send oodles of empathy your way! I havenít had surgery (yet), but I lost 50 pounds six years ago and over the past few years have gained it all - plus some - back. The lifelong weight struggle can be such a major kick in the olí keaster!