Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Atkins Induction (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/atkins-induction/)
-   -   Completely new, newbie - where do i start? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/atkins-induction/794836-completely-new-newbie-where-do-i-start.html)

gazanj 01-19-2013 06:43 AM

Completely new, newbie - where do i start?

I am a completely new newbie never having done Atkins before - today 19Jan2013 is day one of my new eating plan. I have the Atkins - New diet revolution book but I am a little concerned about consuming such large amounts of calories as I have been reading threads that say you have to watch your calories. Is it best to follow the book to the letter or do I need to watch my calorie intake also? I need some help in knowing how to start the Atkins Induction please. I have been advised by my Doctor that I need to cut all carbs out of my diet as I have developed a rather nasty intolerance to sugar and grains. I need the support of a group like this to keep me going now that I have started as well as help to know what works and what doesn't. I have around 30lbs to lose. I am astounded at the knowledge you guys seem to have. I can't do this alone.....HELP:):dunno:

jacquirsw 01-19-2013 08:57 AM

Hi

Yes follow the book to the letter, especially the first 2 weeks where it is true induction. after the first few days once you get past 'induction flu' and into ketosis you will find that your appetite may diminish loads so although the foods you eat may be higher in calories per gram you often find that over the course of the day you will eat less. I would recommend finding a good online food diary, there are lots and some are better than others but we are not allowed to post the names here. Also the cleaner the food you eat (less processed) the better.

Good luck

Skinnurse 01-19-2013 09:18 AM